Citizenship & Immigration

 

What we do

Citizenship & Immigration Services staff members provide advice and representation on citizenship and immigration processes. We offer low-cost legal services to immigrants and refugees and their families.

Our legal representation at U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) is limited to Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Connecticut residents. Legal representation at the Immigration Court in Boston is also available on a case-by-case basis.

 

Who we are

Our Citizenship & Immigration Services program is one of four programs in RI whose staff members are accredited by the U.S. Department of Justice. Partial accreditation enables us to represent clients before USCIS; full-accreditation additionally allows us to represent clients before the Immigration Court.

Our staff — two attorneys, five accredited representatives, and five caseworkers — give consultations to thousands of individuals annually and assist an average of more than 1,500 clients each year with applications and legal representation. We are trained to handle a wide variety of immigration matters, including naturalization, permanent residence applications, family petitions, temporary protected status, deferred action, unlawful presence waivers, asylum, deportation defense, and legal services for victims of crime.

 

Appointments and Consultations

Walk-in consultations are available Monday through Saturday to assess eligibility and provide information regarding necessary documents and fees. Please see our hours:

Monday  9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.  Carl Krueger
Tuesday  9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.  Kinga Correa | Danlette Norris
Wednesday  9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.  Cecily Kerr Ziegler
Thursday  9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.  Tatyana Tsangarakis-Almeida
Friday  9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.  Carlos Ospina | Olga Calheta
Saturday  9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.  (Rotating)

 

Consultations can also be scheduled with individual representatives/attorneys (contact list below).

Appointments are required in order to complete and file immigration applications and are scheduled according to individual representative/attorney availability. Timeslots for evenings and Saturdays are available with some representatives/attorneys.

 

Contact the Department of Citizenship and Immigration

Tatyana Tsangarakis-Almeida – Program Director / 401-784-8621 / talmeida@diiri.org

Andrea Rojas – Caseworker / 401-784-8785 / arojas@diiri.org

Carla Aveledo – Caseworker / 401-784-8711 / caveledo@diiri.org

Carl Krueger – Staff Attorney / 401-784-8643 / ckrueger@diiri.org

Carlos M. Ospina – DOJ Accredited Representative / 401-784-8636 / cospina@diiri.org

Cecily Kerr Ziegler – Staff Attorney/Victims’ Rights / 401-784-8688 / cziegler@diiri.org

Danlette F. Norris – BIA Accredited Representative / 784-8635 / dnorris@diiri.org

Elsa Laskorski – Caseworker / 401-784-8784 / elaskorski@diiri.org

Ivania Zepeda – Caseworker / 401-784-8650 / izepeda@diiri.org

Kinga A. Correa – BIA Accredited Representative / 401-784-8631 / kcorrea@diiri.org

Olga Calheta – BIA Accredited Representative / 401-784-8648 / ocalheta@diiri.org

Sileng Kang – Caseworker / 401-784-8616 / skang@diiri.org

 

 

 

 

 

Donate