Citizenship & Immigration


Citizenship & Immigration Services staff members provide advice and representation on citizenship and immigration processes. We offer low-cost legal services to immigrants and refugees and their families.

COVID-19 Updates:


Our Citizenship & Immigration Services Program is still offering immigration legal services during the pandemic. We are serving the community by phone, email, and video calls. Consultations are available by phone according to the schedule listed below.

Please call us at 401-784-8607 and we will transfer your call to an attorney or legal representative.

What We Do

Our legal representation at U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) is limited to Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Connecticut residents. Legal representation at the Immigration Court in Boston is also available on a case-by-case basis.

Who We Are

Our Citizenship & Immigration Services program is one of four programs in RI whose staff members are accredited by the U.S. Department of Justice. Partial accreditation enables us to represent clients before USCIS; full-accreditation additionally allows us to represent clients before the Immigration Court.

Our staff — three attorneys and five accredited representatives — give consultations to thousands of individuals annually and assist an average of more than 1,500 clients each year with applications and legal representation. We are trained to handle a wide variety of immigration matters, including naturalization, permanent residence applications, family petitions, temporary protected status, deferred action, unlawful presence waivers, asylum, deportation defense, and legal services for victims of crime.

Appointments and Consultations

Consultations are available Monday through Friday to assess eligibility and provide information regarding necessary documents and fees. Please see our hours:

MONDAY 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Carl Krueger // Tatyana Tsangarakis-Almeida | Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, Greek

TUESDAY 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Danlette Norris // Kinga Correa | Languages: English, Spanish, Polish, Liberian dialects
Braxton H. Medlin (asylum, deportation, detention) | Languages: English, Spanish

WEDNESDAY 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Carlos Ospina // Olga Calheta | Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese
Cecily Ziegler (victims of domestic violence, other crimes) | Languages: English, Spanish

THURSDAY 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Danlette Norris // Kinga Correa | Languages: English, Spanish, Polish, Liberian dialects
Braxton H. Medlin (asylum, deportation, detention) | Languages: English, Spanish

FRIDAY 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Carlos Ospina // Olga Calheta | Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese
Cecily Ziegler (victims of domestic violence, other crimes) | Languages: English, Spanish

Consultations can also be scheduled with individual representatives/attorneys (contact list below).

Appointments are required in order to complete and file immigration applications and are scheduled according to individual representative/attorney availability.

Contact the Department of Citizenship and Immigration

Tatyana Tsangarakis-Almeida, Program Director | 401-784-8621 | talmeida@diiri.org

Braxton H. Medlin, Staff Attorney, Immigrant Coalition of RI | 401-784-8719 | bmedlin@diiri.org

Carl Krueger, Staff Attorney | 401-784-8643 | ckrueger@diiri.org

Carlos M. Ospina, DOJ Accredited Representative | 401-784-8636 | cospina@diiri.org

Cecily Kerr Ziegler, Staff Attorney, Victims’ Rights | 401-784-8688 | cziegler@diiri.org

Danlette F. Norris, DOJ Accredited Representative | 401-784-8635 | dnorris@diiri.org

Hector Perez-Aponte, Coordinator, Immigrant Coalition of RI & Caseworker Aide | 401-784-8650 | hperez@diiri.org

Julia Salinas Sanchez, Caseworker Aide | 401-784-8650 | jsalinas@diiri.org

Kinga A. Correa, DOJ Accredited Representative | 401-784-8631 | kcorrea@diiri.org

Maria DaMoura, Caseworker | 401-784-8661 | mdamoura@diiri.org

Olga Calheta, DOJ Accredited Representative | 401-784-8648 | ocalheta@diiri.org

Miguel Diaz, Caseworker Aide | 401-784-8667 | mdiaz@diiri.org

Rayanny Thornton, Caseworker Aide | 401-784-8627 | rthornton@diiri.org

Tethvisal Phan, Caseworker Aide | 401-784-8616 | tphan@diiri.org


 
Give Now